Gluten-free Pumpkin Muffins

15/12/2012 Comments Off on Gluten-free Pumpkin Muffins

PumpkinMuffinsModifications. Becoming gluten-free was not a lifestyle choice for me; I would’ve loved to live off of baguettes, marmalade & coffee for the rest of my life.  And just around Thanksgiving [Black Friday – for those unfamiliar with US Holidays], I add: pumpkin.  Pumpkin pancakes, pie, muffins, cookies, etc.  This lasts just until after Christmas… though I can easily come clean about an occasional pumpkin pie in July.  This morning it was muffins.  Modified from Williams-Sonoma recipe: Spiced Pumpkin Cupcakes.  Don’t panic – I personally go e

asy on the spice AND the sugar, thus, more muffin than cake; oddly I’m not a fan of these spices (and probaly the ONLY American who doesn’t like Good Earth Tea – don’t hate me!) unless it’s in my Glow Wine – this year modified with 1/4 cup 100% blueberry juice (via Trader Joe’s), Peet’s Mulling Spices and a Tbl of Orange Blossom Water – add sliced & squeezed tangerines for Drunk Oranges. 🙂

Gluten-free Pumpkin Muffins

*Modified Williams-Sonoma Spiced Pumpkin Cupcakes
For the 2 2/3 cup of flour, I use:
1 cup equal parts Stone Ground Brown & Sweet White Rice flours
2/3 cup Tapioca flour
1 cup equal parts Sorghum & Bean flour
Make sure to mix this together with the salt & other dried ingredients (except sugar)!

Other modifications:
1 cup of Walnut oil instead of Canola
1 cup of sugar in the raw (rather than 1/granulated & 1/brown)
1/4 cup Real Maple syrup (best for allergies – especially to corn)
Chocolate Chips instead of Raisins.  Guittard Milk Chocolate are really my favourite available in the US.  If I was in the UK, I’d break up a lovely oversized Galaxy bar.

My thoughts?  Raisins say “spice”; chocolate chips and pumpkin make a nice duet, AND since I half the sugar, it’s a lightly decadent combination that works with espresso.
Also, try a nut oil instead of canola provided you haven’t a nut allergy.  I prefer Walnut oil, but Pecan would work, too (especially if you prefer to substitute pecans for walnuts in the recipe, as it does seem like most people side either walnut OR pecan – odd).
Up side: There’s no MILK – for those of you tempering your diet sans lactose.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gluten-free Pumpkin Muffins at I Miss You Records.

meta