The most requested song ever (of mine)

14/04/2013 Comments Off on The most requested song ever (of mine)

Was one that my friend Jayson Belt sang: Just You & Me.  And also one I wrote on a couch in a friends house in about a half an hour (OK, the research took longer, as did the perpetual 3 pages a day writing schedule).  I spent several months walking an adorable 8 year old to school & walking into city centre in Manchester, England to get coffee & write: poetry, nonsense, lyrics, thoughts; whatever came to mind because that is partly a songwriters “spring training” (though, it’s a year round affair).  At the time, I had a goal of writing at least 3 songs a week, play them live into Garageband & email to Bob Hartry for production, critique or disintegration.

Looking for the lyrics & chords?  Follow this link:  Just You And Me

IMG_1575

Sometimes writing & producing music can be a very lonely life.  But still a labour of love.  While under contract with ABC/Disney I’d write out of sheer fantasy – because I could & sometimes the demand was a storyline I hadn’t gone through, but could relate to.  I find I can conjure up best ideas while walking & when back in Manchester, there’s either a very inviting moor, or the city.  Which, if you’ve found yourself in the middle of, I highly recommend a stroll over to Soup Kitchen in the Northern Quarter.  Tell Chris that Rie sent you!

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading The most requested song ever (of mine) at I Miss You Records.

meta