“Just Like That” – Emmy Nominated

I woke up rather late May 1st to a million congratulations, which was fun & completely unexpected!  As I’ve been recording until (wee hours of the morning) several different projects, I had forgotten award shows existed.  Amongst other things… like marshmallows.

Writing music is exhilarating enough, add an Emmy.  I feel incredibly grateful as a vagabond-turned-working songwriter from the midwest; I never quite imagined moments like these in my wildest dreams.  Maybe the odd fantasy of making art no one would ever see in a little 3rd story flat around the corner from the Louvre.

But in real time, perhaps I’ll meet Sheryl Crow (as she wrote a theme song for ABC which is also up for an award)?  And release another single, just because… I can.  (Isn’t that what the original Indie Artist does?  Not the kind with the big “Indie” label, but the kind who’s creating music on order, in order to create music.  Sells a few paintings so I can buy more paint.  Gives away half the ownership so I can post it in a gallery.  And along the way happens to get a nomination… or two.)

“Just Like That” was a fun song to produce.  One hard drive in tow – percussion & guitars were recorded in various bedrooms; the session sent back to NYC for Risa to throw vocals on… “Adventures in music-making” include many late nights editing… a more contained way of  going on a journey, exploring a landscape.   Listen to the original sent to ABC on my SoundCloud Page, which was performed by cowriter, Risa Binder (though we hope Kristen’s will end up on iTunes).

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑