Star-Sucker (or my new single)

25/06/2013 Comments Off on Star-Sucker (or my new single)

The quest for truth can be a very gallant one.  The heart becomes as fragile as newsprint; add a little glue, make a piñata, decorated however we wish, it’s still thin… and the GPS chimes out: tread carefully, ink trumps the sword.

There’s always a moment. We could be 4 or 14 or 84, but there’s always a moment where we’re no longer content with what’s in the mirror & ready to burn it down to get to the bottom of it all.

I wonder if the human soul is more than just a black hole.  I wonder if it’s more of an ever evolving mass from star to star-sucker to star again.   I wonder if we do cease at some point, if reincarnation (however one flips the idea – several times or just once) is a morbid trick for absolute power to continue or a morbid trick of nature or just entirely wrong.  These are all simply thoughts, maybe real, maybe untrue.  And the residing detail is that unanswered question if any of it really exists.  Of course, this could all just be me: a little too much existentialism.

IMG_2554

There’s also this idea that it’s better to to not know.  But one’s held accountable for what they do know along with what they don’t.  So, that doesn’t work.

I’ve been curious since forever.  In fact, I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t consumed with getting to the bottom of things.  Perhaps why I enjoy classic rhetoric.  On the opposite, the author, Harry Frankfurt explained, “It is just this lack of connection to a concern with truth – this indifference to how things really are – that I regard as the essence of bullish*t”.  Of course, one must reason that if you are truly concerned, the heart is involved, and that kind of passion also requires sacrifice rather than hostility; empathy rather than arrogance.  The involved must be willing to put their own heart on the line rather than find pleasure in another’s pain:

“…swinging at my heart like Papier-mâché… Oh, oh – I kinda like it this way” –DOLLS.  Release date: 7/16/13

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Star-Sucker (or my new single) at I Miss You Records.

meta